I have never really worked with lamb very much. The last time I made lamb I completely cooked the rack of lamb. It was pretty bad. But white streaming on Twitch someone suggested that I try lamb. For some reason I thought it was a good time to try it again. I am a huge fan of Greek food and so I figured that It would be a good idea to make some Mediterranean dishes to compliment. Lamb has a really gamey flavor, but not in a bad way.

You can definitely taste that the lamb is grass fed. Because of the flavor, it has compliments to food that you would not normally pair with protein like mint. But I didn’t try mint, I went with Greek yogurt style of margination (is that a word?). The lactic acid from the yogurt helps to tenderize the lamb meat and adding the spices helps give the classic Greek flavors. I got this recipe from Epicurious and they had used Tabil seasoning for the marinade. I couldn’t find any so I used Greek Seasoning instead. Works really well. Some people in the reviews page were also talking about removing the yogurt marinade before cooking. I left mine on. Its tastes very good. You can prepare the lamb ahead of time since it needs time to marinate.

 

Yogurt Marinated Leg of Lamb

  • Servings: Alot of lamb
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Marinate Lamb Ahead of Time

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole-milk yogurt, divided
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons Tabil Spice Blend
  • 4 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt plus more for seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper plus more for seasoning
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 quantity, 4-5 pound butterflied leg of lamb, opened like a book
  • 4 lemons, halved For garnish

Directions

  1. Mix the first seven ingredients together well.
  2. Slather yogurt marinade all over your lamb leg. Cover the whole thing.Lamb Done
  3. Let it marinade for 3 hours room temp or up to overnight in the fridge covered.
  4. Cook on the grill until medium rare (145F)Lamb Grill
  5. Slice into strips, serve with Mediterranean rice and Greek salad and Naanslice lamb

