I must preface with the fact I am not too familiar with any kind of Asian/oriental style of cooking. I love eating soup and I love ginger flavors. I decided to try this recipe out and I think it’s pretty tasty and it is very easy to make. The original recipe used shrimp so feel free to try it with seafood and tell me what you think.

 

Oriental Bok Choy Soup

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 45 Minutes
  • Print

Pork and bok choy served with mushrooms in an oriental soup

Credit to My Recipes

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon canola oil
  • 1 Pound Pork Roast Chopped into Small Bite Sized Pieces
  • 7 ounces shiitake (trimmed and thinly sliced)
  • 3 tablespoons peeled fresh ginger (chopped)
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
  • 3 cups baby bok choy (coarsely chopped)
  • 2 tablespoons sliced green onions
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

  1. Heat oils in a heavy bottom large sauce pan or Dutch oven on medium heat. When oil shimmers, sauté pork for 5 minutes. Take pork out.
  2. Sauté mushrooms and ginger on medium heat for 5 minutes until ginger is shriveled and mushrooms are dark.
  3. Add chicken broth, soy sauce and water to pot. Stir in bok choy, green onions, and cilantro. Simmer for 3 minutes. Don’t overcook the bok choy or else it will be bitter.
  4. Serve with lime wedges.

